Page 1 of 2 [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Aimless
Veteran
Veteran

15 Aug 2009, 12:45 pm

Something happened today with my 11 year old Aspie son that is a fairly predictable pattern for him. He was playing with a large heavy rolling pin and dropped it accidentally on his toe. Of course he shrieked in pain but then he gets really really angry at the rolling pin and starts looking around for something to destroy. Whenever he stubs his toe-it's the floor's fault. If the computer's slow-it's because it hates him. I can deal with that kind of silliness but when he wants to wreck something I gotta step in and this just makes him madder. Any suggestions? Logic doesn't work.

copwifey
Butterfly
Butterfly

15 Aug 2009, 1:06 pm

I have no advice as I am brand new to this. I just wanted to say thanks for posting this because it explains why my son does things like this. I didn't understand why he would get mad at an object and yell at it when I *think* he knows it's just an object. Now I understand a little better.

Aimless
Veteran
Veteran

15 Aug 2009, 1:15 pm

Well, I fear a lifetime of blind rages and all the consequences that go with them. Whenever I try to use logic he yells "I KNOW MOM I'M NOT STUPID YA KNOW" :roll: has anyone overcome this?

Willard
Veteran
Veteran

15 Aug 2009, 2:33 pm

I still get frustrated with inanimate objects and castigate them as if they could hear and understand. :roll:

As far as destroying things, all I can tell you is my folks simply would never have tolerated that. Reaction would have been swift, sure and (for me) quite unpleasant. I'm not recommending anything, just saying that since nobody knew I had AS, I didn't get any slack for it - I got treated like any kid would who threw a tantrum. And I learned to control myself.

Aimless
Veteran
Veteran

15 Aug 2009, 2:41 pm