Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

Bataar
Veteran
Veteran

23 Oct 2009, 10:08 pm

I'm trying to find a new job because I can't stand my current one. When I look at job classifies or sites like Monster.com, all I see are the typical "professional" jobs that I am unsuited for. Currently, I work in IT, but desperately want out of that profession. It just takes too much time and since I don't find it interesting anymore, it's impossible for me to stay on top of it as things change and retain information. I'm at my wits' end. I either have absolutely no qualifications, am completely uninterested or issues with Asperger's would keep me from being able to do it.

visagrunt
Veteran
Veteran

23 Oct 2009, 10:34 pm

I have had two pretty obscure jobs in Government. I was a foreign service officer from 1992-2000 (posted in Hong Kong and NYC), and more recently (since 2007) I have been a treaty negotiator with Indian and Northern Affairs.

While the qualifications for these obscure jobs are a bit remote (I have degrees in Math and Law), government still presents opportunities for work that cannot be found elsewhere. Also, Government is a very good employer in so far as accommodating Asperger's (or other personal issues) is concerned.

Bataar
Veteran
Veteran

28 Oct 2009, 7:48 pm

Hmm, I looked for some local government jobs (city/county/state) but haven't tried federal. Maybe I'll give that a shot.

arielhawksquill
Veteran
Veteran

29 Oct 2009, 9:51 am

Try Craigslist. There are all kinds of jobs on there, not just professional ones.

kc8ufv
Veteran
Veteran

19 Nov 2009, 11:15 pm

Bataar wrote:
Hmm, I looked for some local government jobs (city/county/state) but haven't tried federal. Maybe I'll give that a shot.