Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

Miyah
Veteran
Veteran

19 Jun 2010, 9:27 am

I had been attending an Autism Center for 5 years and I had participated in a few things such as panel discussions and a video interview. I thought that they were interested in me as so I went and talked to them about seeking employment there for connections. They told me that there was nothing available at the moment but I could create a resume and give it to them. So, I did what they asked me to and I got a phone call back from the center behaviorist and she told me that they could not hire me due to me being a client and it would be unethical for them since I was a client there. "We would like for you to give talks when we need you," she said on the phone.

The behaviorist then called me two months later and explained that she wanted to get me on their mentoring program as a volunteer in working with high school kids. She also kept leading me on about that and not once did she ever pull me to the side to ask when I would be available. I then recently sent her two e-mails about what was going on. She never responded to the first e-mail and then I sent her another one in stating that I felt like she dropped the ball on her behalf. I then said, "I hate to sound arrogant here, it's just that I would expect with the two panels that I was asked to participate in that there would be some connections by now."

She then wrote back and said that she was looking for something which I know is not true and she also wrote that she understood my disappointments and then accused me of being unprofessional.

Shivan
Raven
Raven

19 Jun 2010, 9:51 am

I'm very sorry for what happened to you. Is tbere a supervisor above this person that you could talk to? Maybe you can get some clarity about what's going on. Try not to expect much, the supervisors' concern is for the center. *HUGS*

Miyah
Veteran
Veteran

19 Jun 2010, 5:56 pm

Shivan wrote: