Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

ApsieGuy
Veteran
Veteran

24 Jul 2010, 1:21 pm

So, my situation is this

-I have a slightly below average intellect.

-I have aspergers. However, I have learned to mimic NT behavior

-I want a decent job.

-I am willing to go to school

So, I was thinking maybe something in computer science would be good? I don't really think I have the intellect to handle engineering. I am also 23......so that plays a factor in my choice

I am quite good with working with stuff like simple math like shifting a function .

From looking at this forum, it appears computer/engineering are good options for aspergers? I guess that would depend on the person. However, I believe any skillset can be developed to an extent.

If anyone does work in computers/engineering......how many hours do you tend to work a week?

Mudboy
Veteran
Veteran

24 Jul 2010, 1:39 pm

I am an engineer. I work 50 to 60 hours a week because my job is so much fun. My job and my special interest are the same thing. If you have a special interest, you should look for a job that touches it.

Mudboy
Veteran
Veteran

24 Jul 2010, 1:41 pm

double post
double post

Last edited by Mudboy on 24 Jul 2010, 3:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ApsieGuy
Veteran
Veteran

24 Jul 2010, 1:45 pm

Mudboy wrote:
I am an engineer. I work 50 to 60 hours a week because my job is so much fun. My job and my special interest are the same thing. If you have a special interest, you should look for a job that touches it.

That sounds good on paper. However, bills are also vital to pay as well...

Right now, I make 12 dollars an hour......not a fun salary to live off of. I give the majority of it to mom and dad....but still

I don't think anyone is going to pay me 40k to sit on my butt and play video games all day. That's my special interest

So, I am looking for a stable job that pays about 40k-42kish

Computer Science/engineering seem like decent paying jobs where you can get away with having moderatly OK social skills.