Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 

MONIQUEIJ
Veteran
Veteran

05 Aug 2010, 11:19 am

I just seen the Toni braxton autism speaks commercial and the end they don't say 1 out of 150.
they said 110. why are the number suddenly changing.

Ferdinand
Veteran
Veteran

05 Aug 2010, 11:21 am

1 in 110 kids have autism.

0 in 6,000,000,000 people care.

MONKEY
Veteran
Veteran

05 Aug 2010, 11:24 am

^ :lol:

Just 109 more out of those 110 before we reach world domination. :twisted:

joealjim
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

05 Aug 2010, 11:28 am

Ferdinand wrote:
1 in 110 kids have autism.

0 in 6,000,000,000 people care.

^This^

:)

buryuntime
Veteran
Veteran

05 Aug 2010, 12:44 pm

Does this mean that less than 1% of the population has diagnosed autism? I'm not good with numbers.

Ferdinand
Veteran
Veteran

05 Aug 2010, 1:22 pm

buryuntime wrote:
Does this mean that less than 1% of the population has diagnosed autism? I'm not good with numbers.

I think that it's 4 percent.

pgd
Veteran
Veteran

05 Aug 2010, 2:00 pm

MONIQUEIJ wrote:
I just seen the Toni braxton autism speaks commercial and the end they don't say 1 out of 150.
they said 110. why are the number suddenly changing.

---

That number of 1 out of 110 may be based on a recent (within the last five years or so) USA study about autism.

At the same time, autism numbers vary widely. It depends on which study of many studies a person looks at.

ADHD numbers vary widely also.

It's almost like ADHD recently was the flavor of the month/the neurological challenge of the year and now it's autism which is the new flavor of the month/the new neurological challenge of the year.

In the past, some educational departments were rewarded with money when a certain amount of children were diagnosed with a certain condition because that neurological challenge had been targeted as an area of interest and qualified for grant money/easy money whatever.