Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

foobabe
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

10 Nov 2010, 2:54 am

HI folks

I am new here - so apologies if my query has been addressed in another thread. :oops:

In a nutshell, my 11 year old is always making inappropriate comments in school, in the corridor, in the classroom. Out loud and under her breath. The school isn't too happy as it is distracting and frankly rude. We are trying ABA and positive reinforcement but it is still happening.

I have told her think before you speak, used social stories, think to of other peoples feelings etc... - but its just not going in - Has anyone experience of this - Any ideas?

Thanks
x

Tanks
Butterfly
Butterfly

10 Nov 2010, 9:49 am

I don;t really have any advice. I'm fairly new to all this.

I've also tried to explain to my 10 year old about his inappropriate comments. He recently commented on our neighbours sweaty shiny appearance, we don;t know him very well, and he was very embarrassed. My son said he was just checking that the guy didn;t have a fever, and wanted to check he was ok!!
He also told my friend the same night that she ''should do something about those desperate bags under your eyes''! ! Thankfully she knows what hes like and thanked him for his advice.

alienmom
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

10 Nov 2010, 11:59 am