Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

glynny48
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

19 Mar 2011, 5:25 pm

Ok I am new to all of this as we are just beginning this journey but I was curious if it is possible for a childs symptom to grow worse....... Lincoln, my son, has always had a tendency to want certain things certain ways or has trouble to adjusting to changes in schedules or things in a bigger picture. But now he is not allowing me into his room because it has to be sorted and cleaned a certain way. He has never been like this. It was like a switch and things went majorly in that direction.

LuxoJr
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

19 Mar 2011, 5:33 pm

I was actually like that. I still am but when mum comes into my room I just get annoyed or people touch my things I just get pissed and arrange my thing back. It's a change thing. There are some aspies I know of who got worse in middle school. I got worse in elementary and got better in high school. It's a strange phase sort of thing that usually goes away or just becomes slightly less severe.

DW_a_mom
Veteran
Veteran

19 Mar 2011, 5:57 pm

Yes, that sort of sympton will fluctuate over time due to a number of factors. It can be a simple natural progression, or a sign that he's feeling less secure about other areas in his life (if my son has been dealing with big changes in school or personal life, he will try to make up for it by getting more controlling over the things he CAN control in his life; I've actually learned to watch for this as a signal that new stress factors exist).

glynny48
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

19 Mar 2011, 11:46 pm

Thanks so much for the information! Like I said this is all new and for it to change so drastically all of a sudden! I was a little concerned!

Callista
Veteran
Veteran

20 Mar 2011, 12:20 am