How hard is it for as aspie to find a job

Page 1 of 2 [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Ai_Ling
Veteran
Veteran

09 Jun 2011, 10:00 pm

So I just graduated from college and I'm pretty new to job searching. Due to the bad economy, its hard for pretty much everyone to find a job. My concern is that I don't interview very well and I tend to choke on my words easily. Its hard enough to walk in and put on an act. Im thinking, the stronger social skills = more likely to get hired. Which isnt fair, because a persons social skills really doesnt correlate to how well they'll perform on the job unless your in a job that requires good PR skills. I notice that a lot of entry level positions require customer service which I know from past volunteer experience, I suck at. Im good at being attentive to the persons needs and doing what they ask but Im not good in the delivery of this. I'll do the task with an expressionless look on my face not a warm welcoming attitude.

But Ive known of aspies who done jobs that required customer service. I know an aspie who worked at the library front desk at my school though it was fairly low pressure compared to other jobs that required customer service. I know an aspie who worked at Vons, I didnt know what his position was tho. Im guessing it required at least a low level of customer service.

Right now Im waiting to hear back from the Vocational Rehabilitation Center to see if I can classify as priority 1 in getting job services. If I do, I'll get all the employment services I need. But if Im not 1st priority, then I'll have to be on a waiting list due to budget cuts. As for now, Im on my own and Ive been applying like crazy since I dont have anything else to do.

How did other aspies get employed?

johnsmcjohn
Veteran
Veteran

09 Jun 2011, 10:55 pm