Looking for asperger/autism musicians in Montreal.

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

cornelius6
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker

30 Jun 2011, 5:30 pm

Hello my brethren. I am a singer musician composer based in Montreal. I have aspergers and thus I had very little success figuring out how to make a living with music. My lack of social skills got me ignored so many times in favor of charming NTs. I could never really make the necessary social connections to succeed. On the other hand, I obsessed a lot on making myself better, thinking I could remove the human element from the equation, trying to be "objectively" so good no one could ignore me. They still did. Only now in a more aggressive way, because they probably saw me as a threat. Anyways, that's not the point.

The point is this: all those NTs are succeeding because of their natural want and ability to group together. So I was thinking it would be very cool and probably to everyone's best interest to group up with others in a similar situation as mine, other high functioning autistics/aspergers who have a passion for music.

Here is some of the music I made: http://samuelbertrand.com
to give a better idea where I'm coming from.

Let us unite and blow some minds!

martyfan

01 Jul 2011, 10:06 am

:D I like your music. I am a musician also, I just finished a music course with only a pass because 75% of the criteria was group related even though I feel to be a far more advanced than my peers in the realm of musical theory, song writing and technical ability. It frustrates the hell out of me that I have so many good musical ideas yet nobody to go out and express them with. Another negative besides difficulty with NT's is that I want to do more experimental music than is to most peoples liking.

I think your idea is a great one, the only thing I believe that holds us back as musicians is our different mindset. Perhaps we can discuss strategies to put our music forth if we are not as socially capable as NT's?