Page 1 of 2 [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

syrella
Veteran
Veteran

25 Jul 2011, 9:46 pm

Does anyone here deal with low energy levels? I ask because I've struggled with this for a long time. It affects my concentration and my ability to deal with be productive in life. I have found ways to compensate for it, but it can be debilitating at times. I feel tired most of the time.

When it comes to doing stuff I like, I'm able to concentrate just fine and can do so for extended hours. But when it comes to doing difficult tasks like studying, I get very lethargic and low energy. Sometimes I will get disoriented and/or fall asleep.

I've found some ways to deal with it, including ADHD medication (stimulants), but it's not really a solve-all. I also don't really like taking medication as it makes me much more anxious.

Are there any ways that I can raise my energy levels? Would regular exercise help? I try to eat fairly well.

Edit: Should mention that it's not only when I'm studying. It's whenever I have any sort of sensory overload. I've gotten that way out at the grocery store before, for example. I don't think it's a true shutdown of sorts, but it definitely does feel like someone is pulling a "switch" in my brain and it goes from on to off.

Last edited by syrella on 25 Jul 2011, 10:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

stilldays
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

25 Jul 2011, 10:03 pm

Take B vitamins and exercise. Do some running and you'll notice an increase in your energy levels.

syrella
Veteran
Veteran

25 Jul 2011, 10:09 pm

stilldays wrote:
Take B vitamins and exercise. Do some running and you'll notice an increase in your energy levels.

B Vitamins and running? Okay, I'll try that. Any recommendation on how long per day?

Thanks for the advice!

Surfman
Veteran
Veteran

25 Jul 2011, 10:21 pm

Hi Syrella, it could be many things, but I would address your liver health first