So I'm on the spectrum. My first thoughts on Aspergers.

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

graphicidentity
Butterfly
Butterfly

16 Sep 2011, 7:16 pm

I was recently told I am on the asperger/autism spectrum. I'm from Ottawa Canada. I'll be starting a support group this coming Monday and I'm just beginning to learn more about the symptoms. I guess the big thing with aspies is the lack of empathy. I work hard at listening to other people. And I always wait for the right moment to say something. What if the moment doesn't require empathy? If this is something that is supposed to occur naturally, then when do I show it, and how do I practice it? I guess these are my first questions.

Willard
Veteran
Veteran

16 Sep 2011, 8:05 pm

The empathy issue comes up here quite often, mainly because most people make the mistake of confusing Empathy with Sympathy.

Empathy is simply the ability to gauge another person's psychological or emotional state by observing the subtle nonverbal cues humans give off almost constantly. To pick up on their manner of eye contact, the way in which they sigh, or turn their head, or the position in which they sit and so on. Supposedly this ability comes quite naturally for neurotypical (NT) humans and not so much for those with AS. It is true that we have a tendency to be caught up in our own interests a lot of the time and we often are not good with consistent eye contact, so it makes sense that we would miss a lot of that.

Empathy
is all tied up in the notion of Theory of Mind, which is to say, understanding that other people may be thinking along a completely different track than you are and being able to ascertain what's going on in their head and how that may cause them to behave. Kids with AS are supposedly very weak in this, but we do pick it up somewhat as we get older. It does contribute to a certain childlike naivete that we never seem to fully shake though.

Sympathy