Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

mitch413
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

02 Jan 2012, 3:09 pm

I am wondering if anyone else has used their state's vocational rehabilitation commission, and if so, what they felt about it. Was it useful or a waste of time? I am on the waiting list to have my intake interview with the Massachusetts voc rehab commission and am not sure what to expect out of the interview or from their services. Thing is, they have some pretty strict eligibility requirements since they cannot take everybody who has a disability. The intake interview is when they determine your eligibility and what types of services you may need. I'm not totally certain I'll be eligible for their services since my AS is pretty mild. However, I do have a hearing loss that is not related to my AS, so I may qualify on that basis.

I have a BS and MS degree in meteorology, but have not been able to land any positions in the field. Although I can't really expect them to help me in a field as specialized as this, I wonder if they will be able to help me train for and find a job in another field such as IT. I guess I'm kind of anxious to find out whether or not they'll be helpful, provided I'm eligible in the first place. I would assume you need documentation to provide them with information and proof of your disability. Anyone who has had experience with their state's voc rehab office, please feel free to chime in. Thanks.

glasstoria
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

02 Jan 2012, 3:26 pm

Well this is my experience so far. They are very slow to decide, and took more than the full 60 days for mine. After I had fully applied, they had my name wrong on my letters! A totally different first name that starts with the same letter.

I met the lady for my first starter appointment, and signed forms for her to be able to collect my medical records. She seemed nice enough at that time but it was very brief.