Page 1 of 2 [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

kotshka
Veteran
Veteran

29 Sep 2012, 11:21 am

I'm not sure if this belongs in art or computers - feel free to move it if it's in the wrong place.

I've had several ideas along these lines, but this one is my favorite so far. I am an artist and I see art as a valuable tool for expression, and a way to share things that cannot be shared or understood through other methods. I've seen some great digital art that has inspired me to actually try to make this one a reality.

I want to show people what the world looks like through my eyes. I've already found some success with painting and drawing, and now I want to try a sort of digital artwork / game to simulate some of the experience and perception that autistic people have. The premise is that you (the player) have been sent to the supermarket to pick up the items on a shopping list. Normally this wouldn't be a big problem, except, disaster: they have just reorganized the entire supermarket and you have no idea where anything is located.

For an NT this wouldn't be much of a problem, but for me (and probably for many of you), it is an incredibly difficult and stressful situation that I have to face on a daily basis. A supermarket (or any other environment I'm not already familiar with) is just a barrage of colors and noise. I can stare at an unfamiliar shelf for twenty minutes and still have no idea what's on it. All I see are a billion tiny details that refuse to come together to form a whole.