Page 1 of 4 [ 50 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

LizNY
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

16 Nov 2012, 12:36 pm

I'm new here so forgive me if this was brought up before.....but I was wondering if anyone has horses or rides regularly? Do you think aspergers helps or hinders being around horses? I've heard horses can help people w aspergers but my sense is that aspergers complicates it. I've been riding since I was 3 years old, so I can't imagine learning since I hav ovr 30 yrs of experience at this point.

GreyGirl
Veteran
Veteran

16 Nov 2012, 8:57 pm

Without a doubt it helps. When I ride sporadically I am far worse than when I am able to ride at least twice a week. I'm currently schooling hunters with a fabulous large quarter pony. I started riding at age 11 but I have always been "in love" with horses. I really don't think aspergers made much of a difference except in a special interest way. As far as learning to ride later in life, it's common for things to be harder to get right. I didn't start over fences until a year or two ago, (around age 38). It seems taking me forever to get it down solidly. The pony I ride does the 2'6" hunters but I'm still nervous at 2'.

"Freedom of Speech is Not a License to be Stupid"

Fnord
Veteran
Veteran

16 Nov 2012, 8:59 pm

What do you mean by "helps"?

No love for Hamas, Hezbollah, Iranian Leadership, Islamic Jihad, other Islamic terrorist groups, OR their supporters and sympathizers.

GreyGirl
Veteran
Veteran

17 Nov 2012, 11:57 am