Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

Lemmiwinks
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

24 Dec 2006, 5:54 am

Well the first time I learned about Asperger's it was my final semester in college in a class called "Hospitality for the Handicapped" or something similar to that. Every student in the class had to do a presentation about a handicap, and how it would affect those in the hospitality industry (I graduated with a degree in Hotel & Restaurant Management). I chose to do mine on "seeing-eye dogs". But any way, some girl did hers on Asperger's. I don't remember anything from her presentation, except I thought she said that she was doing her presentation on "Ass-burgers", which I though was really funny.

But anyway, I diagnosed with ADD/HD when I was 2 year old. In high school and college I had a really hard time getting friends, and when I was in a group of more than 2 other people, I felt like shutting down, and disapearing.

So in general, I felt that no one understood me, or everything everyone else was doing was really lame, and that THEY were at fault for not talking to me, or showing interest in me.

It was a pretty miserable time in my life.

So about 2 months ago, my phychologist either decided it was time to tell me or they finally figured it out that the reason why I was seemingly so socially immature was not because of ADD/HD, but rather Asperger's.

After finding out what Asperger's was, it put everything I have been through the last 10 or so years into perspective. I know why people were not talking to me, and I can finally put words to what I am feeling when I am around 3 or more people. I just wished that I had known sooner, so that I could have tryed to change my own behavior, than rather sulk and hope that someone else would change.

I hope something in this makes sense, and thanks for reading.

scrulie
Veteran
Veteran

24 Dec 2006, 7:30 am

Yep that all makes perfect sense, Lemmiwinks! I know exactly where you're coming from!

SteveK
Veteran
Veteran

24 Dec 2006, 8:30 am