Asperger's and extreme noise sensitivity at university

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

Lindsayxx
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

01 Mar 2013, 4:01 pm

I'm in my first year of university and I absolutely HATE the noise of everyone around me. It bothers me most when I'm in my room and I can hear everyone in the rooms either side of me. Even just the sounds of normal conversations drives me insane and I feel like I'm going to have a panic attack. I can't stand hearing people talking/shouting etc and it especially annoys me when they have other people come into their rooms and they do it too! I don't know how to explain it, it just stresses me so much to the point where I'm sitting in my room crying because it makes me feel so distressed, panicked and extremely anxious. I've spoken to the university about it and they've sent out generalised emails about noise levels but it hasn't made a difference. Everyone in the rooms near me are well aware of my condition yet they're not considerate at all. I'm worried the university is going to start getting on at me for causing so much disruption and end up kicking me out?! Surely they can't do this considering it's just the way my disability affects me. The manager of the disabilities department for my uni is having a meeting with the university to try and come to a resolution.

It bothers me so much I'm constantly having 'meltdowns' at university and with the staff etc. I can't study or focus on anything so I'm getting behind and have to keep getting extensions.

Oh and it's important to mention my room is one of the rooms specifically designated to people with medical conditions so it's not like the people around me aren't aware!

It makes me so upset that it makes me feel like leaving (I don't think I would because my degree is the most important thing to me) and I don't think it's fair that I'm feeling like this just because people can't be considerate of me.