Still working on RPG, possibly looking for help

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

Dennis
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

15 Jul 2014, 9:50 am

http://www.wrongplanet.net/postt224823.html

This was my previous topic. I have some more ideas now and my concept of the game is more concrete. I'm still a pretty long way from completing it though. Was wondering if anyone out there had any experience with designing for RPG Maker XP or the like, or more generalized experience. I'm not an expert on coding but I think I need to learn that myself, however, making sprites is kind of difficult and I don't really see myself bothering with learning how to make music if I wanted some different tracks for the game. Plus if I had some assistance I could have an actual credits page. Only issue is that with the current state of the game I dunno if I could ever offer any financial compensation.

SabbraCadabra
Veteran
Veteran

15 Jul 2014, 4:49 pm

I haven't used XP, but I've used RPG Maker 95 and 2000 and they were very easy to learn. You don't really have to learn any programming (though I think some of the newer versions might support scripting languages), everything is just setting up options in the program.

As far as art/music goes, I know back when I was big into RPGM95, there were tons of free resources out there, for tiles and stuff...I also "stole" stuff from SNES games, and used a lot of MIDIs of songs from Squaresoft games. Not the best idea, but my games were mostly parody, so I didn't really care.

Dennis
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

17 Jul 2014, 9:55 am

That's good to know. I want this particular game to be serious/hopefully for profit so I am not very interested in cribbing things from licensed games myself.

JaryT
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

23 Jul 2014, 4:27 am

Well. I am horrible at art. Know nothing about coding. And am tone deaf.