Anyone been through vocational rehabilitation?

Page 1 of 2 [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

ripcity
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

07 Aug 2014, 2:58 am

I've been aproved for vocational rehabilitation. Are they going to use my meger skill set to place me in a job (that I will most likely hate), or will they help me gain real skills that I can use to do something that might pay well and/or be intrestinng.

Meistersinger
Veteran
Veteran

07 Aug 2014, 4:46 am

Most times, VR doesn't do a damn thing to help with anything. Most state-run VR offices are worse than useless.

silentlyvela
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker

07 Aug 2014, 5:37 am

I know here, they do testing to try and find out your abilities in a job. Also they can help with interview practicing. Then there is the disability assistance side where they provide therapy/counselling. In some cases they assist in paying for training. They say I'm too qualified and there is no point since I have a bachelors in something that I can't effectively work in, as well as had training I paid for myself for truck driving.

For me I really need the therapy/counselling that they aren't giving me when on the road as a truck driver.

Also they tend to be really slow and for me I have bills to pay and am forced to work in what ever I can get a job in real fast.

I think it really depends though on if your case worker is actually passionate about helping people with disabilities.

Homer_Bob
Veteran
Veteran

07 Aug 2014, 9:28 am