Neurotypical & Aspie Relationship

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

emilystiles
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

17 Feb 2015, 12:54 am

Hey. I'm new to this site but really am looking for a community to discuss some problems I'm dealing with. I have no where else to go to talk about Asperger's-related dating issues, as I'm in a situation that nobody really understands. I'm hoping some people here will.
I've been dating my boyfriend for over 9 months. I love him to death and I know he loves me. I'm a second semester freshman in college and one of my first weekends here I met a guy who seemed a bit off. He was sort of obsessive about talking about his hobby - photography. One of the girls in my dorm and I went to meet him to talk to him and both decided he was super nice and cool, but something was definitely different about him. She suggested Asperger's, as she had known someone with it before. I looked it up briefly and decided she was probably right. My boyfriend and I would talk on the phone a lot at the beginning of college and I told him about this new person I met. I told him how something seemed a bit off about him and my friend and I thought he probably had Asperger's. That weekend, my boyfriend sat me down and told me that he had Asperger's. I had felt horrible about talking about this new kid I had met as if he was odd or different. How should I have known, though? My boyfriend never exhibited any signs that he was faced any special challenges in communicating with me. But then it all started to come together. He always asked me how I was feeling, what I was thinking. He had always told me about his rough childhood where he had a hard time talking to anybody, being touched, or looking people in the eyes. The more I thought about it, the more I noticed things. I asked myself if I would have ever realized on my own. At that point, I thought there was no way. But now, I have no doubt I would have.