Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

Patrick64
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

24 May 2015, 10:38 am

I had been going with vocational rehabilitation services to help me on my resume, and I had struggled with getting into a stable job. Image

I had a job gap back in 2012 due to some serious mental health issues. One employer asked to explain the job gap I had back in 2012. I couldn't think of anything reasonable. Long story, I moved to Texas and back after one month, then struggled to look for a job then. I was looking for an Desktop support job where I would ideally fix computers, but I struggled with keeping up with IT, and then my career path has been going down over time at my resume.

I'm not good at making up stories, and putting in fake jobs, so I just feel stuck right now. I need help.

Chris71186
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker

24 May 2015, 11:41 am

formatting is everything with resumes. Attached is a url to the resume template I typically use [let me know if there is any problems with the link]. It tends to impress employers and has landed me quite a few jobs. Feel free to take a few notes.

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1XqLdILUq_xE6Vv7DP3maK80aKe0i479xvKnoEAsiJbs/edit?usp=sharing

Chris71186

24 May 2015, 12:17 pm

Patrick64 wrote:

I'm not good at making up stories, and putting in fake jobs, so I just feel stuck right now. I need help.

you don't have to make up stories and you don't have to place fake jobs in there as well. Employers can ask questions but we are not required to give detailed answers. The trick to answering questions like the one you got is to be vague. I would say something to the effect of "there were circumstances that prevented me from working at the time". I would also make it clear that those circumstances are no longer present anymore. If he asks you to explain the circumstances just tell them "it's personal". You are not lying, but you are not disclosing information that would cause concern either.