The word ''empathy'' is becoming my worst word

Page 1 of 4 [ 59 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Joe90
Veteran
Veteran

02 Jul 2015, 9:18 am

Empathy has become a word that gets scattered around a lot, and seems to cause more stigma than needed for Aspies/Autistics. I wish they wouldn't use ''lack empathy'' in the DMSV... whatever it's called, because most people see the word ''empathy'' is a gentle, kind, caring person who will thoughtfully help anyone out and understand others in any given situation and would never want to hurt anybody (emotionally or physically). And is that how you would define the majority of humans today? I don't think so. Yes, there are lots of kind, caring NTs out there. I know a lot, and I feel I can talk to them and feel understood. But I also know a lot of people who don't seem to have any thought or understanding, and don't even have an inkling of what it's like to be in my shoes.

I'm not saying I'm an empathetic expert who can put myself in the shoes of anyone in any situation and care for every person that walks the Earth, because I'm not bigheaded. I make mistakes, just like any normal human being. Sometimes I acknowledge or recognise how somebody feels but know I'm not giving a damn. But I do try to understand, and I would never tease of bully anyone who's different.
The only people I can't have empathy for is murderers and rapists, those sorts of people. I have no idea what is going through their mind, and why they would want to kill or rape innocent people for no reason. Are they proud of themselves after they committed the crime? Do they regret it afterwards? Do they even know they did it?

Anyway, we won't go into murderers and rapists at the moment.