How do I get rid of my explosive behavior?

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

Joehotto101
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

13 Sep 2015, 11:07 pm

For the past few years, I have had trouble controlling my anger and have extreme anxiety when things go unexpectedly. Whenever I get angry when things don't go my way/expected or an uncomfortable thought comes in my head (such as when I made a scene and my dad's girlfriend dumped him because of me), I bang my head on the wall several times, jump up and down like a baby, scream on top of my lungs, break things, and use extreme profanity (I will f*cking kill that f*cking sh*it w*nker n*gger). It happened really bad today in the mall when the shopping clerk was being difficult, so I shouted, pounded my fist several times, and threw my purchase on the floor. My dad got furious at me, and told me that if i continue this behavior, he will send me to the mental clinic for a month. I am also upset because I am new to community college and have no friends so far.

What do I do when I have raging temper in my body and not let it out to cause a scene? The pressure builds up so quickly that i can't just "suck it up".

Misery
Veteran
Veteran

14 Sep 2015, 12:19 am

Hm, the best thing I can think of is to simply walk away, preferrably quickly. Dont say much, just drop whatever you're doing, and start walking. Get away from the area where the problem is happening, and then maybe do, I dunno, some exercise or something. Something a bit strenuous yet considered healthy. This way you work out the physical tension slowly instead of explosively. The very act of quickly walking away starts the process immediately.