Nurses with Aspergers, how do you cope?

Page 1 of 4 [ 51 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Dreamsea
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

15 Nov 2015, 12:41 pm

I've been a nurse for several years now and I still struggle. I've had 3 different jobs so far and am starting a 4th one in a few weeks. I typically don't fit in socially with my co workers but am able to do my job well enough that I rarely ever recieve patient complaints.

Nursing is a very social job. I find that those with great social skills typically thrive in this field. I've seen nurses that are mediocre at best thrive in this field because their social skills are amazing. My main way of coping is by working as few days as possible. I'll be working only 2-3 eight hour shifts a week at this new job. I've noticed that working more than 3 eight hour shifts a week is detrimental to my overall well being, both physical and mental.

I'm known by my co workers as being in my own little world. Some even accuse me of ignoring them and being only focused on my patients. I don't purposely try to do this. Some co workers boss me around, talk to me like I'm a child, or even yell at me. Some laugh at my awkwardness.

Recently, I've realized how my lack of involvement in office politics has hindered me in some ways. Sadly, it's not always how good you are at your job but how well liked you are. Luckily, most of my bosses have seemed to like me even though I'm not generally well liked by my co workers. I've encountered a hand full of co workers over the years that liked me and my work and accepted my "weirdness".

Overall, I find this job very, very draining. I'm thrilled about cutting my hours down in a few weeks. Now, I'm working 3-4 eight hour days a week and the 4 days are very rough on me. I work straight nights, too. I purposely chose nights so that I wouldn't have to interact with many people, but nights doesn't agree with my circadian rhythm.