Do you come across differently than you think you do?

Page 1 of 3 [ 42 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

lissa1212
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

08 Feb 2016, 11:28 pm

I've noticed lately that the way I try to act around people and the way I actually come across are completely different. I had a phone call with a client today (I'm a freelance writer) and the client recorded it so I could have something to reference when writing my article. But listening to the file she made was painful to say the least. While I tried to act confident during the phone call, I noticed that I sounded nervous and less than enthusiastic at parts. I also mumbled quite a bit and my voice sounded weird. It was really bizarre to see that I seemed way different than I thought I had.

Does anyone here have a similar problem? If so, have you done anything to overcome it? Thanks in advance!

Unfortunate_Aspie_
Veteran
Veteran

08 Feb 2016, 11:35 pm

I come across (depending on the person) completely different from what I intended. And before when I was a little bit less aware of myself, I often left an interaction COMPLETELY befuddled as to why the person came away with that opinion of me and what in the world I could have possibly done to engender such a thought or belief in that person. :?

I haven't really come up with any mechanisms for that as of yet though. I'm still working on the self awareness part of the equation.

zkydz
Veteran
Veteran

09 Feb 2016, 1:24 am

Had the misfortune to hear myself giving what I thought were clear instructions that were not clear on a recording. What I thought I said and what came out, the words dropped and incomplete sentences was not the same and the force I heard was staggering.

This was just shortly before I started this journey in earnest. One of the many things that I had been piling up in my personal database.

RAADS-R -- 213.3
FQ -- 18.7
EQ -- 13
Aspie Quiz -- 186 out of 200
AQ: 42
AQ-10: 8.8

Yigeren
Veteran
Veteran

09 Feb 2016, 4:25 am