What do I do with the rest of my life?

Page 1 of 2 [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

knutella
Butterfly
Butterfly

29 Apr 2007, 6:13 pm

I'm 30 yr old male, never had a girlfriend or any friends. I dont know anyone outside of work and still live at home. I can't relate at all to anyone. I feel I'm so far behind that I cant catch up. What should I do? :roll:

miku
Raven
Raven

29 Apr 2007, 6:21 pm

What are you good at?

Elemental
Pileated woodpecker
Pileated woodpecker

29 Apr 2007, 6:38 pm

I can sympathise. That sounds like me and to a large extent, it is still me though I have made a bit of progress. So this is the advice I give myself, even if I'm not too good at following it.

The good news is, you can catch up. This isn't a race, and you won't be disqualified from life if you've not had your first kiss by 20 or whatever. Consider which things you want, and which things do you feel you ought to be doing. That is an important distinction. There is a huge array of things that people experience pressure to do from their peers, the media, pop culture, family etc. Personally, I ended up panicking and going into a cycle of self-hate when I realised how much better my peers were doing in so many aspects of life, which would discourage me from even starting to improve myself. So the most important thing I'd advise is, start small. Don't rush to "catch up" with your development, go at whatever pace works for you. Savour small achievements.

Some other advice--