partners with Aspergers easier than a NT ASD relationship?

Page 1 of 4 [ 61 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Psychonaut777
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

28 Apr 2016, 11:19 am

Hey everyone,

this is my first time on these forums, I just found out that I have Asperger's about a month ago. Anyways I've been in a relationship with an NT girl for almost 2 years, and it's pretty much been hell from the beginning, now after finding this out everything makes perfect sense and we've come into a new level of understanding each other. However we are still having incredible difficulty especially with my needing isolation to re-charge and collect my thoughts. Anyways, we decided to call it quits.

So my question is for those of you out there who are in a relationship with someone else with Aspergers. What is that like? is it easier? (I know all relationships are difficult regardless) do you have a mutal deeper understanding of each other and your needs? or is it more difficult bcause both people are needing isolation all the time?

Thank you!

nurseangela
Veteran
Veteran

28 Apr 2016, 11:54 am

What exactly was "hell" about it specifically?
(I'm NT)

Your neurodiverse (Aspie) score: 83 of 200
Your neurotypical (non-autistic) score: 153 of 200 You are very likely neurotypical
Darn, I flunked.

Edenthiel
Veteran
Veteran

28 Apr 2016, 12:06 pm

It is easier *if* both of you are self-aware, and have learned enough about yourselves to be able to manage things like over-stimulation, stimming (recognizing when you need to, etc) - anything else you need to communicate and sometimes negotiate in a relationship. For instance, if one of you needs to verbally stim and the other is having a really extreme sound sensitivity day, you need to be able to negotiate how you will handle it *together*. It's just more likely each of you will fully understand what the other is going through and so not be stubborn that your needs take precedent (think unmovable object vs unstoppable one).