Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

PhosphorusDecree
Veteran
Veteran

20 Jun 2016, 12:17 pm

Eight months after moving into a council flat, I finally have time to start decorating. The flat needs it- the previous tenants graffitied the walls, and I just have sheets up for curtains. I also have a tenancy review coming up.

Now, I've been renting privately for 20 years, so have never done any decorating. I am clumsy, not in the least bit practical, and generally terrified of the whole thing. But we're expected to decorate. It seems to be assumed that all council tenants have natural DIY skills. Ask anyone about it and they say, "oh, it's not that hard once you get started."

Today I bought a masonry drill and attempted to put up curtain rails in the bedroom. All the steps looked managable, but the result was eight ragged holes in the wall, only two of which held the rawl plugs correctly. I don't know how to fill them back in. And I dread to think what I havoc I could wreak with all my new tins of paint....

At what point is it OK to throw my hands up and just blow a couple of months wages getting all this stuff done professionally?

Tiankay
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

Location: 3rd Street on the right, just after the event horizon...

20 Jun 2016, 12:41 pm

Well, if its to much for you and you can afford to getting it done professionally then do it. Its fine, many people do that. For me its quite the opposite. I am practical enough, but i just lack the creativity for decorating. There are just metaphorical 1000 ways of doing it, so many decoration objects, so many styles, different placements, wich color to choose, how do things fit together, i dont understand it...

Peace
TK

AuroraBorealisGazer
Veteran
Veteran

20 Jun 2016, 12:43 pm

You will need some spackle to fill in the holes. Here's a helpful guide for that: http://homefix.tips/how-to-spackle-holes-and-drywall-how-to-use-spackle/