Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

sunset47
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker

18 Oct 2016, 11:22 am

Hi. My name is Nathan and I am 32. I am married to Paula. I work as an accountant. She's a special education teacher. She works with children who have severe intellectual disabilities, including Down Syndrome.

I have ADHD and nonverbal learning disorder at age 9. I took Ritalin, Adderall, and Paxil over the years. I also tried briefly Wellbutrin and Straterra. I currently take Vynase at 15-30 mg a day. My ADHD is the hyperactive-impulsive type. The medication helps me concentrate better and helps me stay on topic with people and make better transitions in conversations. It also helps me focus and I don't "get stuck" on a topic.

I do carry an official Asperger's Syndrome diagnosis but after looking at it with my psychologist and psychiatrist, we saw that none of the obsessive interests applied and it's doubtful that the repetitive behaviors applied. I do perseverate but it's with topic disorganization, not a topic of interest. I don't have a go-to topic. I also try to make eye-contact but my eye turns out and I daydream and this all makes it difficult. I have been recommended to have surgery because it's that bad. I have no aversion to making eye-contact; emotionally, it is easy.