Should I let my friends know about my AS?

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

bloose78
Hummingbird
Hummingbird

29 Nov 2016, 10:11 pm

I am a sophomore at a fairly big school(15,000 students roughly), I just want to know if it's a good idea to tell my friends about my Autism. Yes, I am high-functioning and they are all NT to my understanding. I party with them all of the time but I don't think they fully understand me as a person. I think they understand for the most part I'm a bit off but I don't know how good of an idea it is to tell them that. And before anyone asks, I'm not romantically interested in anyone from my party people lol.

r.steiner4
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

30 Nov 2016, 3:00 am

I think it would absolutely be appropriate to tell your friends. However, I would be very selective about who you consider a "friend." If you feel as though these people do not "understand" who you actually are, I would wait a while before divulging anything as personal as a diagnosis.

Aspertastic424
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

04 Dec 2016, 2:59 am

Tell them for sure. If they are your friends they will understand.

thisismeemilyb
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

25 Jan 2017, 8:18 am

You can tell them if you want but honestly most neurotypicals don't know what to do with that info so you're better off not saying anything.

FreakyZettairyouiki
Pileated woodpecker
Pileated woodpecker

25 Jan 2017, 9:32 am

thisismeemilyb wrote:
You can tell them if you want but honestly most neurotypicals don't know what to do with that info so you're better off not saying anything.