Parents always hesitant to lend me money

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

LimboMan
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

22 Dec 2016, 1:08 pm

I am a student and I have no job because of several issues I need to sort out with myself, and I am paying very expensive rent and bills where I am staying, and the loan from Student Finance I'm getting is not enough to cover all the rent, bills and food. Basically I have no money coming in, it's all blowing away.
Now everytime I ask for money from parents (even if my bank balance is near zero) they always just seem unwilling to give me money, and its something I always dread asking. I'm not one of those crazy students who blows their loan on things they shouldn't, it just does not cover everything.
One of my housemate says their parents give them a few hundred a month and their parents don't even ask for the money back and are kind in the way they let them off. My parents don't send me anything in support. My housemate think its unfair my parents don't take in mind my difficulty to get a job because of severe anxiety issues, and my dad keeps going on to me to pay him hundreds back because I borrowed it for rent. But If I pay them back I lose a quarter of the loan and it has to last around a few months (not forgetting food, bills), then I have to ask more for money and it just keeps building up. It just stresses me out I hate this conflict.

Do parents usually let off for students when it comes to living at college and money or do most usually want it back? And how can I convince my parents to be more understanding and promt when it comes to lending money when I need it? They will always find a way to delay it.

ArielsSong
Veteran
Veteran

22 Dec 2016, 1:31 pm

The problem is, if you don't have money to pay it back then it isn't borrowing.

And you've proven that already. You've already 'borrowed' a lot from them that you're admitting you can't pay back.