Is ABA Behaviour Interventionist a good job for an aspie?

Page 1 of 2 [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Tross
Veteran
Veteran

17 Feb 2017, 3:27 am

So I graduated in June of this past year and after several months I finally got an interview and just found out tonight that I got the job, which I'm super stoked about. It probably didn't help that not only is a BA of sociology one of those BS degrees that doesn't have a specific use, but I've always been really indecisive about what I want to do for a living even well before graduating, and sociology just happened to be a subject I enjoyed and was good at and to make things worse I changed my major a few years into post-secondary, which I didn't start till I was 20 because I took two years off after high school to work jobs I didn't care for. Long story short, I'm almost 29 and am still living at home, and finally have a chance at a decently paying part-time job that could lead to full time employment.

It just so happens that I volunteer with kids at my church and that sort of led me in the direction of pursuing child and youth work, and I've been trying to get into that field without having to go back to school as I'm already bloody sick of it. Well, it looks like I finally got my wish and will be working with kids on the spectrum, which is one of few circumstances where being an aspie might give me a leg up as I can't say I didn't need a little extra help when I was younger and kind of know what it's like to be the only one of my friends who needed it. I'm just a little uncertain about what this job entails, though I suppose the mandatory training seminar will help clear some stuff up.