Page 1 of 6 [ 93 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

nephets
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

19 Feb 2017, 7:40 pm

Yes, I know some Aspies clearly can drive, but it seems a lot of us cannot. I don't know if this rings a bell with anyone, but my instructor essentially told me that my thinking patterns made driving difficult (she did not know I was AS). She said that I did not concentrate on what was immediately in front of the car, but what might be a problem literally further down the road. Basically, I think my AS mind struggled to cope with the multitasking necessary to drive.

IstominFan
Veteran
Veteran

19 Feb 2017, 9:00 pm

I drive, but I only got my license for the first time at age 48. It can be done.

Redxk
Veteran
Veteran

19 Feb 2017, 9:13 pm

I am a pretty absent minded driver. I'm always backing into things, and yesterday I broke off my side mirror.

wrongcitizen
Veteran
Veteran

19 Feb 2017, 9:16 pm

From my perspective it is easier than it first appears. It's all in the instructor and the tester. I got it my second time and I passed the written test with 2 mistakes and 68 questions. It took a LOT of studying and a LOT of rote work, but I eventually got it because my desire for independence is greater than my desire for leisure. Always keep your goal in mind, not your failures, at least I think.

I still have troubles when I drive, but I'm not sure if it's just me or it's everyone who's just started driving on their own. Keep in mind that we are built to adapt to ANY condition (with time), and Aspergers doesn't destroy this ability, it just changes the ways in which we do so. If it takes 40 years so be it, as long as you have the desire you'll get there eventually.