Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

Eliasandjonasmom
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

14 Mar 2017, 1:44 pm

Has anyone had improvement of anxiety and or autistic traits you want to fine tune by supplementing magnesium? I'd like to hear if it worked for you and if it didn't or even if it made things worse. No judging. Thanks in advance : )

MissAlgernon
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

14 Mar 2017, 1:53 pm

No difference in my experience. The only things that work for me, counting what currently works and what worked when I was a student, are caffeine, some plants (like hawthorn) and prescription drugs. Beware of food supplements like magnesium because in excess, they can trigger kidney stones so they aren't very good if there isn't a diagnosed deficiency. And this even more if you have a family history of kidney stones, because that means a higher chance to suffer from them due to genetics.

Eliasandjonasmom
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

14 Mar 2017, 2:12 pm

Good to know, my dad and hubby have had stones and I'm asking for my son. Definitely something to keep in the back of my mind. Although wouldn't an improvement in this area brought on by the supplement indicate there was a deficiency? Best to have it checked professionally I'm sure.

MissAlgernon
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

14 Mar 2017, 2:33 pm

I think this isn't a bad thing to do a blood test to check once a year even with an apparently healthy child because sometimes there are surprises. Some kinds of nutrient deficiencies are very common even in western countries, like iron, vitamin C and vitamin D for example, even with a balanced diet it can happen.

somanyspoons
Veteran
Veteran

14 Mar 2017, 3:17 pm

The first sign you are on too much magnesium is loose stools or diarrhea. If your kiddo is constipated, it's a great idea, as long as he/she is getting enough water. Dehydration is the first reason that someone gets constipated and if you use magnesium instead of water bad things happen. Kidney stones is one example.