How can I find something I don't suck at?

Page 1 of 2 [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

ObsessiveHF
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

22 Mar 2017, 1:44 pm

I have been finding I am just bad and inefficient at everything it seems like. I'm now 27, when I was younger I was more eager to try things because I didn't realize it would end up the way other things did - mediocre performance after much effort. Is there anything I can do to go about trying to "find" myself like young people stereotypically do or should I just put everything I've got into becoming mediocre at a job so I can survive long term? There might be something out there I can become good at but I'm not really good at discovering new things. I know why I've failed, so it's easy to rule out things.

Currently my parents support me, so I don't have an immediate reason for panic of becoming homeless or hungry but I feel like I'm getting nowhere fast.

BTDT
Veteran
Veteran

22 Mar 2017, 1:59 pm

You might try to identify what is "easy" and "hard" for you.

Can you do repetitive tasks?

Do you like to solve puzzles.

Are you satisfied with doing something that just meets minimum standards or do you need something that allows you to put in a good effort? Or would you prefer that there are no standards at all?

Because Aspies are so different, it seems to me that a "good" job involves matching secondary issues.

Some companies don't actually want you to work hard, they just want to do your job without getting upset customers. They know they don't spend enough to make anyone happy, but know the customer will keep coming back because the prices are so low. 8O

RnzWithSizzors33
Hummingbird
Hummingbird

23 Mar 2017, 7:01 pm