Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

RayCarlsen
Butterfly
Butterfly

23 Mar 2017, 10:11 am

Hello planet. I'm amazed at the activity and extensiveness of this forum!

I'm skeptical of the value of labels - should we have diagnosed and medicated people like Isaac Newton? But on Aspergers self-tests, I score very high and relate to most of the specific points. For example, I'm extremely sensitive to sounds and light touch, feel overloaded and ready to withdraw and shut down at parties, can't focus on conversations well in a chaotic environment, have unusual physical mannerisms when speaking, feel like it's an intellectual challenge to form and tell a coherent story, and do not naturally make eye contact in conversations.

I have a degree and math and am a data and analytics engineer, and very successful (well into six figures) and universally liked in my career. Most of what I know about people I got through observation and reasoning about it and using the scientific method. And I'm good at it. My unusual passion is classical singing and opera, I've sung professionally and performed lead roles in many amateur shows. Sigh, even with a pseudonym I guess I'm already Google-able if someone were to do enough work. :)

I've been single for 8 years, never married and have no kids. Since my last breakup I've gone through every range of emotion trying to improve myself enough to be viable in the dating market. (For example, getting down to low bodyfat, trying to improve fashion, trying to read a lot about the topic.) It seems that mature women don't feel chemistry toward me and I have only had rejection in the 2010s. It's never a problem the other way around. I'm average looking, 5'8, look 10-15 years younger than my age, and am receding in the back. I've given up and dating and women for a couple years as being too much of a net negative emotionally with only failure and no success.