Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

ThisAdamGuy
Veteran
Veteran

23 Mar 2017, 8:35 pm

Every time I think I've given up on this franchise, I get struck by the "I want to make my own video games" bug again. I've never bought any of these programs, but I've tried a couple free trials of them. Always gave up pretty early on because of how complicated everything looked. Does anybody have any experience with these games/programs? How hard are they to learn how to use effectively?

BrokenPieces
Veteran
Veteran

24 Mar 2017, 7:00 pm

I have RPG Maker VX Ace, which was the version before the most current. I have a little programming knowledge so it helps substantially (but I have no experience with the language used, Ruby). I think programming knowledge helps.

You have to have a level of dedication but it's a lot of fun to use, and fairly easy once you know how it works. Also there are a ton of free resources.

Lostinthesauce2
Butterfly
Butterfly

26 Mar 2017, 3:44 am

I have no programming experience and have the same bug as you. I have MV and VX ace and me and my friend got pretty far into making a game, like two levels. It was a lot of fun and I guess all I can tell you is that it is complicated and you need a ton of time but your knowledge builds on itself. I was making "interactive cutscenes" after having it a few months but ultimately gave up. Definitely a hobby software but can be a good time. You will impress yourself. Just look at the components not the big picture of your game and things will happen.

whatamievendoing
Veteran
Veteran

29 Mar 2017, 1:50 am

I own RPG Maker VX Ace and have made one full, if very small game with it. As far as usability goes, it's definitely from the easier end for the most part, but it does have features beyond the basic editing if you want to get advanced.

SabbraCadabra
Veteran
Veteran

07 Apr 2017, 7:51 am