Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

RobotsAreReal
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

11 Apr 2017, 11:31 am

I haven't really made any friends in person during the past 4-5 years and am not really sure how to do so. I just didn't really get along with anyone in high school; I had a couple casual acquaintances for the first couple years, but didn't regularly talk to anyone other than my teachers during the following two years. I don't share interests with most people my age, so I really don't know how to start conversations or keep people interested.

I am now a first year college student (I live on campus), and it's just that much easier to slip into the cracks here socially and avoid any social contact. I want to talk with people and make friends, but I don't know how. Most clubs I've attended already have close-knit groups of friends and most social events of any kind just involve students getting drunk when I don't drink at all and am not comfortable being around alcohol. I haven't been to any actual parties though since I just do not like the idea of college parties at all (tightly packed spaces with loud music and alcohol does not sound like something I want to participate in). Since I'm a freshman, most of my classes are lecture courses, so it isn't really possible to talk to anyone there and I've never been able to stay in contact with anyone in smaller seminar classes I've taken so far.

The problem is, I don't really know how to reach out to people and don't have many common interests with others. I really like robots, but most people are only interested in hearing about them for a couple minutes at most and expect me to have more to talk about, but I don't really know of much and am usually grasping at straws to find more conversational material. Multiple people have had friendly conversations with me on occasion, but I've never been able to stay in contact with anyone or form a friendship.

Any tips?

electricsaygeo
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker

11 Apr 2017, 3:40 pm