Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

CubsBullsBears
Veteran
Veteran

11 Apr 2017, 10:42 pm

So, I'm a bagger at a big grocery store, I'm 16 years old, this is my 1st job and I've been working there for almost 4 months. Especially as of late, I am so upset at how often I'm being scheduled on friday/saturday/sunday, compared to the weekdays. There are 2 reasons for that:

1. I have a friend that I only get to see on the weekends. He's my only friend, and he goes to the school that I used to go to in my 7th and 8th grade year and lives across town.

2. Working that much in a 3 day time span wears me down

This weekend, I work on friday from 4:15 PM-7:30, Saturday from 9 AM-1:30 PM, and Sunday from 4-7:45 PM

Then next weekend, It's even worse:

Friday: 4:15-8(They seriously had to tack on an extra 30 minutes for no reason?)

Saturday: 8:30AM-2(5 and a half hours. Way past my comfort level. They don't want a worn down version of me working for them)

Sunday: 4:45-8PM

They could give me all those hours during those 3 days, but they could never schedule me Monday-Thursday. That's pretty pathetic in my opinion

I understand the fact that more courtesey people are needed on the weekends. I actually like working on 4 hour shifts on saturdays, but I have a serious issue for when they schedule me THAT much on the weekends, and never schedule me on weeknights. Doing something like bagging can wear me down easily, and the person who schedules me has no understanding of how worn down I get from having all those shifts during that time of the week. It's just as frusturating when it's also taking away my only time I can see my only friend.