Where am I supposed to meet people like me?

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

specialsauce
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

14 Apr 2017, 6:41 am

Everytime I go out I am just wondering around by myself.

I have tried meetup groups, I never made any real friends. Just people who are way different from me who talk to me once or twice if I go to the meetup or if we happen to bump into eachother.

I don't know what to do aymore, I feel too different from anybody else. Life is impossibly hard. I don't like it I feel isolated.

SpreadsheetMaster
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

15 Apr 2017, 7:18 pm

I'm an author-in-training and went to a writers meetup group September 2015. Now people from that group are some of my best friends. I'd keep trying meetup groups if there are still others available. I went to several that I didn't like, like an atheist group that was all elderly people and a general social group that was very tiny and never had the same people. Good ones are out there. Other than that, I don't know.

CyclopsSummers
Veteran
Veteran

17 Apr 2017, 7:11 am

Likewise, I'm a member of an introverts Meetup group, and although I've attended several events, I don't feel as though I relate or connect much to the other members. I can't put my finger on what it is.

The least judgmental company I've found myself in thus far, are wildlife enthusiasts. The people there are not annoyed at my general lack of knowledge on the subject (instead being eager to educate me), are not dismissive of my blue-collar job, and don't make dumb comments about my ethnicity.

TheWalrys435
Raven
Raven

10 May 2017, 2:57 pm