How easy is it to get addicted to caffeine?

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

ThisAdamGuy
Veteran
Veteran

22 Apr 2017, 11:49 am

I've been given a new shift at work so that I start at 3pm and end at midnight. That means that I have all my down time in the mornings instead of the evenings. I've never been a morning person, though, so I've started drinking a cup of coffee every morning to help me wake up and get stuff done when I'd otherwise be too drowsy. I'll usually have a second cup around 8pm at the office when I start to get tired then too. I'm beginning to worry about getting addicted to the caffeine, though. Like, this morning I sat down to work on one of my books without drinking coffee, and I just couldn't do it. So, how hard is it to get addicted to caffeine? Is two cups a day enough to worry about?

DeepHour
Veteran
Veteran

22 Apr 2017, 10:51 pm

I wouldn't worry about two cups of coffee. I've been drinking at least 5 or 6 cups of coffee per day for over 30 years (it was closer to 10 in the 1990s) and I'm still here....Most of the studies related to coffee/caffeiene which I've read tend to stress its beneficial aspects, amongst them apparently protection against liver disease, various cancers, diabetes and dementia. Also I don't think caffeine is 'addictive' to anything like the degree that applies to the likes of nicotine, heroin etc.

Closet Genious
Veteran
Veteran

24 Apr 2017, 2:31 am

I agree with the previous poster, I don't think there's any evidence showing that caffeine is particularly bad for you. I try however, to limit myself to 3 cups a day or less.

VIDEODROME
Veteran
Veteran

24 Apr 2017, 5:00 pm

Keep it basic and do not start on Lattes or Cappuccinos. The combined Caffeine / Sugar bump can be habit forming.