Page 1 of 2 [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

AprilR
Veteran
Veteran

27 Apr 2017, 8:15 am

Hi, i'm a 26 yo law graduate. I'm working right now but only on paper. My boss and pretty much everyone ignores me, and they're right anyway. I got this job through a connection and don't understand anything about the complicated cases and contracts. I can't prepare legal documents. I can't even do the simplest task about being a lawyer. I probably have a learning disorder or two.Tbh i always knew i was unqualified but i hated being jobless so i accepted the offer when it came. Also i only studied law because my grades were good in school and it pays well.i have no interest in it whatsoever.oh btw the person who hired me is in a different country now and his partner ignores me/thinks im a ret*d w/e. So i cant quit without even seeing him in person. He's coming next week so i'll probably talk to him and quit. Anyway my question is do you think its too late to start learning programming at this age? I'm going to get fired soon and i'm p sure im not suited for this job. I was thinking about entering a two years programming school but im worried that its too late for me to learn. Thanks in advance for responses!

Tim_Tex
Veteran
Veteran

27 Apr 2017, 12:15 pm

It's never too late. I was 35 when I learned Java, 36 when I taught myself Oracle.

Now proficient in ChatGPT!

ok
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

27 Apr 2017, 12:23 pm

If you're only 26 years old, you have a lot of years ahead of you. You can learn programming, but keep in mind that you are going to compete with developers who have college degrees in IT.
It doesn't sound like you job interests you at all, but perhaps you could find some other legal job. You're very young, and you did graduate. Doesn't law interest you at all? Then why did you finish your degree in the first place?

K_Kelly
Veteran
Veteran

27 Apr 2017, 6:34 pm

I'm almost the same age as you and I'm starting to Learn the C programming language from a book.