Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

SpectrumDoc
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

28 Apr 2017, 9:42 am

Hi All, new here and looking for some advice:

I've been a doctor for 5 years and have come to terms with the fact that I'm not "warm and fuzzy." Some patients will outright tell me that I could improve my "bedside manner."

What I've recently discovered is that, if the patient tells me directly that they don't like my bedside manner, and I tell them that I have Asperger's, they're quick to forgive and even appear relieved.

So my question has two layers: 1) what do you think of how I handled it? 2) do you think I should offer up the Asperger's info up-front - before they have time to be judgy?

- SpectrumDoc

Tawaki
Veteran
Veteran

28 Apr 2017, 11:11 pm

There are a bunch of queations...

Speciality like surgery or radiology? Where it is your skill that is more important than the fuzzy.

I don't care if my neurosurgeon is lacking slightly in social skills. My GP is a whole different ball game.

Do they do Press-Gainey surveys where you work? My ER Aspie doctor friend is getting hammered because of them. He's been dragged into the high ups office because of poor surveys.

I personally would not want to know about your diagnosis. If it's bad enough for me to say something about how you are acting, I'm not coming back regardless the reason why. We would not be a good fit.

I have had flakey, weird GPs. I don't have it in me to deal with personality conflicts/weirdness/issues anymore.

Urgent Care, ER, Radiology, neurologist doing EMGs, various surgeons, all of these are limited visits. I'll put up with a lot if you are excellent. My psychiatrist, GP, cardiologist..that's a on going thing, and I need a good working relationship. I want to be on the same wave length

If you are in a solo practice, why not get the word out you are spectrum friendly?

SCW73
Butterfly
Butterfly

03 May 2017, 10:58 am