Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

Oathdagger96
Hummingbird
Hummingbird

01 May 2017, 2:32 am

I'm almost 21 and I haven't had my first job yet. I think it mostly has to do with most of the available jobs being retail or fast food, and I don't do well at all in those kinds of working environments. Has anyone else had trouble finding work or didn't work until you were in your 20s?

Kiriae
Veteran
Veteran

01 May 2017, 7:31 am

I am 28 and the only job I ever had was a 5 months long trainee job after I graduated college at age 23.
Currently I am trying to get a disability pension (I am probably going to get it, I already got an OK from government doctor and am just waiting for official confirmation) while still looking for a job. I am thinking about moving to a bigger city when I start getting the money and then look for a job there but I am too scared to move so I don't know if I get myself to do that.

BetwixtBetween
Veteran
Veteran

05 May 2017, 11:44 am

I've never worked retail or fast food. They look like horror shows to me. What are you able to do?

komamanga
Veteran
Veteran

05 May 2017, 12:21 pm

22, almost 23.
Only job I had was 5 days (3 of which were trial) long, 2 months ago.
Time to time I have freelance work though.

I really need a job but nobody is willing to hire me when they meet me in person. And I can't apply for disability benefits either because I'm not a citizen where I live though I was told I met their criteria.

BetwixtBetween
Veteran
Veteran

05 May 2017, 1:19 pm

Quote:
I really need a job but nobody is willing to hire me when they meet me in person.

Edit papers online for whichever grades you feel comfortable. Sell stuff online- paperbacks, name brand clothing, etc. acquired at thrift shops/yard sales. Bicycle/appliance repair. I'm just spitballing here, but there's something out there for you that requires no or very little interaction with other people.

komamanga
Veteran
Veteran

05 May 2017, 1:56 pm

BetwixtBetween wrote:
Quote: