Page 1 of 4 [ 61 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

colina
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

02 May 2017, 7:52 pm

I’m an old professor with Aspie traits. My special interest is conversations; close conversations; conversations that create relationships, that bring intimacy, and heal psychological wounds. Most of my students have become professors with special interests in intimate conversations. Many are Aspie. They are helping me learn ways to enhance the interpersonal skills of spectrum people.
I want to get opinions from Wrong Planet members. Please let me know what you think about starting a thread on the three dimension that make or break relationships:
1. Uncommon Honesty to Common Dishonesty,
2. Accepting Differences to Rejecting Differences,
3. Giving Empathic Understanding to falling into Indifference.
These “HAE” (Honesty, Acceptance, and Empathy) conditions are shorthand for decades of relationship science findings. HAE is my key to understanding intimacy. My work at UCLA has shown that if just one of the three is removed the other two will fail. So it’s all or nothing. When a good supply of all three are there, relationships get healthy. Hard to do.
Our working definitions for uncommon honesty, deep acceptance, and expressed empathy are not exactly similar to everyday usage. I’ll need to define some terms to avoid talking in circles with anyone interested in this stuff.
Over the years my students and I have developed programs and courses for sharpening conversational skills, but they were IRL versions, and we want to make an on-line version. So this post is inviting you to share ideas for online support useful to WP members.