Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

Glflegolas
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

14 May 2017, 6:10 pm

As an organic chemist, I get to work with all kinds of cool equipment. But one of my favourites is, without doubt, the nuclear magnetic resonance machine.

What's that?

If you've heard of magnetic resonance imaging, then you know at least a bit about nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR). It's essentially the same technology. When you have an MRI performed, they're essentially putting you into a large NMR machine, and performing a proton NMR.

How does this work?

An NMR machine works by putting the sample into an intense magnetic field. Most compounds contain hydrogen, and it can have one of two spins, either aligned with or against the field. Most of the time, all the nuclei are aligned with the field. Now we add a little bit of energy in the form of radio waves, and some of the nuclei are forced to align against the field (think about them like little bar magnets). The nuclei aren't really too happy about this though, and jump back to the ground state. In the process, they release a bit of energy. The useful data is obtained by measuring the amount of energy released as the protons go back to the ground state, and how long they took to do so.

To keep the magnet working, it's kept at temperatures of around -269 deg. C, in liquid helium. The magnet is so strong it'll immediately erase a credit card, and no steel tools can be brought remotely close it it.

How do you run an NMR?

Disclaimer: Never run an NMR if you wear a pacemaker or prosthetic limbs. The intense magnetic fields can cause these devices to malfunction.