Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

L3ChatNo1r
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

16 May 2017, 10:21 pm

This is my first post here. My boyfriend suggested I should join an autism forum because it would be a good outlet for me, and I figured it was a good idea and that I should give it a shot.

I guess I should give some background information. I'm 26 and was diagnosed with ASD shortly before my 25th birthday. It was absolutely no surprise to me because I had always known that there was something wrong with me. But like many women with Asperger's (I prefer to use that label even though I know it is now outdated), all of my issues had been repeatedly dismissed and/or misunderstood by teachers, health care professionals and supervisors. Before being evaluated, I had just been fired from three jobs in a row due to the fact that I was asking too many questions about my responsibilities. I have a Bachelor's degree in Psychology and was always able to do well in school, but difficulty understanding verbal instructions (I now understand that is an Aspie thing) has always made job success difficult.

Getting a diagnosis was a big relief to me and I'm glad that I now have access to services like the DVR. However, I've found that most of the people who are designated to help me there know very, very little about autism and though I have had two internships through them so far, I'm still having the same difficulties I've always had in the workplace.

The main one being that my co-workers and supervisors do not like me and as a result, I am dismissed when I request help and the workplace is just a generally uncomfortable place for me. I understand that people are not going to like me and that's fine, but it is frustrating because I know that it is due to the fact that they don't understand me or my condition.