Potential Problem with Self-Driving Cars

Page 1 of 2 [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

MirrorWars
Veteran
Veteran

19 May 2017, 7:08 am

So let's say that you're a passenger in one of these things and you are proceeding towards your destination down a quiet road somewhere, when suddenly, somebody steps out in front of the vehicle and they just stay there, standing in the middle of the road, causing the vehicle to grind to a halt. Then the next thing to happen is a second person steps out and stands right behind the vehicle - you are trapped!

The car won't go anywhere and you are stuck. Now, these people standing in the road maybe just amusing themselves, playing a silly prank, or they could be about to commit a crime, maybe robbing you, or maybe something much worse!

I've been mulling this over for a couple of months and I can see this kind of scenario playing out regularly in the near future, when these vehicles become ubiquitous.

SH90
Veteran
Veteran

19 May 2017, 8:24 am

I would refuse to use them... The only way I would consider it is in the form of a Tesla or Mercedes, because you can override the system and take over. Then I could drive around and if not, then I will need need to be defensive.

MirrorWars
Veteran
Veteran

19 May 2017, 10:58 am

Yeah, overridability would make all the difference to my point. Unless the vehicle still refused to run somebody or something over even when you take the wheel. Hmm.

I decided to check that "overridability" was a proper word before I pressed submit.

AspieUtah
Veteran
Veteran

19 May 2017, 11:42 am

It was only a few months ago that it was discovered accidentally that driverless motor vehicles had no side-panel sensors. So, such vehicles would be vulnerable to vehicles in neighboring lanes which could suddenly side-swipe the driverless vehicles.

And, we are supposed to believe that such vehicles are safe? :lol: