Why am I turned down from every single job?

Page 1 of 2 [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

rvacountrysinger
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

14 Jun 2017, 4:35 pm

Most of the time, I don't even get an interview. My applications/resume are rejected on the spot. For example, I am applying for low entry level jobs- all PT. I have been turned down from amazon jobs 9 times. All 9 times that I applied in the past 8 months. I applied to panera bread company for the past 5 years and nothing. I did get one interview 3 years ago. Didn't get hired. I rarely get interviews, and there is never a 2nd interview. But I have come to learn when they tell you there will be a "2nd interview" that means you aren't hired. If you get hired, you get it on your first interview. Its just a way of weeding people out. I am very frustrated. I am in my late 30s, live with my 83 year old father. I never have had a full time job. I am a musician and on the fringes of the entertainment industry. What do I keep failing? These places never give me feedback, so i don't know how to improve. The only thing I have managed to land is Ubereats, which really is a scam. I am thinking I may never get work.

ZachGoodwin
Veteran
Veteran

14 Jun 2017, 4:39 pm

You are trying the old way of getting a job: applying. Try getting a job through an agent or agency like vocational rehabilitation.

rvacountrysinger
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

14 Jun 2017, 4:44 pm

ZachGoodwin wrote:
You are trying the old way of getting a job: applying. Try getting a job through an agent or agency like vocational rehabilitation.

Makes sense. Connections. I may also look into trade school such as culinary or something on a higher level.

Darmok
Veteran
Veteran

14 Jun 2017, 5:05 pm