I feel I may have wrecked my life for ever

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

emax10000
Pileated woodpecker
Pileated woodpecker

16 Jun 2017, 2:56 pm

I am 31 years old and I feel that I may have just taken my life, thrown it in the trash can and set it ablaze. As I noted on other threads, I have a PhD in physics, with 2 papers published during that time, a masters with one paper and am going the postdoc route. I have gained some teaching and grant writing experience in that tenure, but I am not sure what will come from the work I have done and if it will be possible to use it somewhere. If there are difficulties in that, I have a fear that it will be far too late to turn my life around, that I will be 31 and looking at a lifetime of being a nothing. And that it will be 100 % impossible for me to get hired anywhere and there is absolutely nothing I can do to prevent being stuck with relatives since I will not be looked at as being skilled enough to be hired or accomplished enough to get a foot in the door anywhere. I just feel if I haven't established a clear direction by 31 I am beyond screwed and at that age it's just too late to switch directions of any kind. I would love to be able to even see if my skills can be used to do so and I am just not sure if will ever be feasible. It sometimes has gotten to the point where I look to get hit by a fast moving car or walk off a bridge because my life decisions so far were the difference between a good living and being dependent on others forever. It is not that bad as often now, but I feel it could get there later on again.

Would love any practical advice or anything positive, constructive, anything that may be able to help in terms if either feeling better about my situation and/or assistance in where to get started.

kraftiekortie
Veteran
Veteran

16 Jun 2017, 5:07 pm

I think it's possible that you might do fine as a professor----especially on the graduate level.