Page 1 of 2 [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

liminal
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

24 Jun 2017, 10:17 pm

So, a couple of months ago, after listening to Buckethead over and over I decided to start learning guitar. Fortunately for me I have been going to a community centre/social club this year which has a bunch of music instruments that anyone can use, so I was able to start practicing on the guitars there (.. I recently bought my own Ibanez electric).

Is anyone here decent at guitar? What are the things that really helped you to get super good? I'm wondering how long it takes to become an advanced player.

I'm not going to take any proper music lessons (too expensive), not yet anyway. Some of the guys at the centre have been showing me how to play, but a lot of what I know now is self taught.

One thing that I practice a lot is playing scales with backing tracks. I'm trying to get different scales to sound good with the tracks. Pentatonic is easy but boring, I tried the modes like Lydian but it doesn't seem to work out well. I don't know many licks though, so it kind of feels like I'm being repetitive and random with the scales.

whatamievendoing
Veteran
Veteran

25 Jun 2017, 7:48 am

liminal wrote:
I'm wondering how long it takes to become an advanced player.

Depends on how much of your time you're able/willing to put into practicing. I personally have played guitar for ~7 years now, but I don't consider myself better than intermediate as a player. The main reason for that is that I never put much of my time into practicing the instrument - I kept myself busy by engaging in other interests most of the time. I did, however, put just enough time into it that today, I don't utterly suck.

Realistically, I'd cite the good old "10,000-hour rule" as a guideline. Play the instrument for 10,000 hours and you'll arguably be an advanced player.

Mr.Robot
Veteran
Veteran

25 Jun 2017, 8:40 am

It depends on several factors:
-What is your musical background?